top of page

The Misunderstanding

The holiday sun was shining its exotic rays down onto me, the sand was soft and fluffy and the sea as blue as the sky. Everyone was running in and out of the water, splashing and enjoying that abroad feeling you can’t quite gather at home. I was relaxing on a sunbed, reading some book or the other. In my peripheral vision I notice the waves getting larger and when I turn to look, I see ginormous waves carrying people off into the sea, splitting up families and putting every one’s life at risk. The strange thing was, no one seemed to be retreating, in fact they were keener to get involved in the waves and splash around.

Alarmed, I quickly ran back to the beach side apartment I was staying in with my family. I acquired a fan, two metal cats and a safe (which were all surprisingly light enough for me to carry) and set off through the forest behind the apartment, time to get away from this madness. The rays of sun could barely reach the forest floor as I twisted through the endless tree trunks. The air felt fresh and fulfilling and I only had to make a pit stop once or twice. As I came to the end of the trees I was met by an endless stretch of scorching hot sand, not a thing in sight. Still, I marched on through the burning sand, the heat relentlessly trying to get me to stop. Yet I pushed on, as the sand began to clear I now ventured into fields full of flowers, split up by small streams and rivers. It was truly breath taking. Hundreds of colour combinations, surrounded by the brightest green grass I ever did see, I skipped along, my belongings still in the bag I had placed them in at the start. Butterflies of many different colours and patterns fluttered above my head, their wings reflecting in the sunlight.


I headed down to a river bank and laid on the slope, facing my head towards the golden sun. The sounds of birds tweeting and butterfly wings flapping soothed me and I managed to drift off to sleep whilst still keeping hold of my bag tightly. I awoke in a dingy, grey room. As I came to, I saw the room had one bright white light without a lamp shade, grey walls and a big metal door. I was laid on a small, uncomfortable bed, it was most definitely a prison cell. The metal door slowly creaked open as I sat up on the bed, a police officer and a woman entered the room. The police officer informed me that I had been arrested under the charges of breaking and entering and theft. Turns out the safe, metal cats and fan I had taken from my family holiday apartment had in fact not been my family, but a group of complete strangers.


Check out a visual representation of this dream here.

me.jpg

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a 21 year old student taking you on a journey through the mind and what it can create whilst we sleep.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page